Drink for the Galway Girl

As I sit in my room with a cup of tea nursing my chipped knee (that’s a different story for a different blog) and my flatmates get ready to enjoy St Patrick’s day I decided to share my favorite Irish songs.

Get the Guinness down yi!

Steve Earle – Galway Girl

Galway Girl by Steve Earle is a catchy little number. No matter if you know the words or not, guaranteed  after experiencing all the Irish pubs your town has on offer, at the end of the night you and your friends will be merrily singing aaaee aiiii aeeee aaii aeeee all the way home. The drunken version is still going to be better than Gerard Butler’s attempt.

Stiff Little Fingers – Alternative Ulster

I have loved Stiff Little Fingers, the Irish punks, since I was around 15. I’ve been lucky enough to see them play at the iconic Glasgow Barrowlands one St Paddy’s Day way back when and this classic is my favorite SLF song by far.

The Cranberries – Linger

The Cranberries are up there with the greatest bands Ireland has to offer. ‘Linger’, released in 1993, is still as hauntingly beautiful as every other Cranberries song out there. And it makes a change from listening to ‘Zombie’ all the time.

The Pogues ft Kirsty MacColl – Fairytail of New York

It may not be Christmas but it is one of the best Irish songs out there. The classic ‘Fairytail of New York’ by Irish rockers The Pogues and Kirsty MacColl is a great tune at any time of the year with the Irish fiddle in the background it makes you feel as if your dancing away in a crowded pub in the middle of Dublin.

Westlife – Seasons in the Sun

It’s still socially acceptable to like Westlife? Right? No? I’ll just leave this here anyway.

Leave a Reply

