“Kanye West is like my school principal” says Lorde

tumblr_muacg4tpfs1sjefd9o1_500Lorde has commented that rapper Kanye West is similar to a “school principal” after West revealed he was a fan of the ‘Royals’ singer’s music.

Singing sensation Lorde made the comment during an interview with The Guardian where she also addressed rumours that she was in fact 35 and her Grammy Award speech was censored.

She said: “That sort of thing is quite meta. The fake Grammys speech was a little lame. On the other hand, it’s amazing that they’ve dedicated a Subreddit to my ‘real’ birthdate. People revel in having an alien opinion, and I do, too. It’s important. It’s complete unfiltered democracy.

The New Zealand pop singer rose to fame after the release of her debut album ‘Pure Heroine’ and earlier this year announced work on it’s follow up. Lorde revealed her new album will be “totally different” to her previous work as she believes to have grown as an artist and songwriter.

She commented: “I think I’ve learned so much as a songwriter, there’s going to be so much of an improvement because of that. I’m working on stuff quite tentatively, it’s definitely still at the beginning and yeah, it’s totally different.”

 

She added: “I wrote the last album about that world which was the suburb where I grew up and populated by my friends and people who were really familiar to me. Now I’m in a different place every day and I’m with new people every day and it’s a different vibe.”

Lorde continues to grow in popularity and recently performed with Nirvana during their induction into the Rock And Roll Hall of Fame; time will tell if her new music is worth the wait.

Published on Electric Banana.

Leave a Reply

